Menu
Don't forget to check out the school diary dates in the Parent section______________Thank you to all of those who attended Parents Evening this week!_____________Don't forget to sign up for our Breakfast and/or After School club. Prices can be found on our website.
Home Page

Studley

Community Infants' School

Early Years Foundation Stage

Welcome to the Early Years Foundation Stage information page!

 

Our Early Years Foundation Stage consists of a 39 place teacher led Nursery and 2 Reception classes. 

 

Nursery provision:

As a school we are inspected under the Section 5 school inspection which means that we have to have a teacher leading the Nursery and the focus is on the children’s educational development against the Early Years Foundation Stage.  To ensure that we maintain high standards and create a high quality learning environment for our children, activities are rigorously planned to ensure that the provision matches the needs of all children.
 

For this to happen we are unable to offer a ‘pick and mix’ approach to hours for individual children or the facility to change their hours.  

We have an induction period for children entering Nursery to enable a smooth transition.
 

With regard to your child moving into Reception you will need to apply directly online to the Warwickshire Admissions Service for your place during the Autumn Term of Nursery. You will be informed of your placement usually sometime during March. We have a Transition Plan for children entering our Reception Class from our Nursery.  Transition Day is in line with the rest of South Warwickshire schools.

If your child leaves us at the end of Nursery then your onward Primary School will have their own induction process. There is an agreed transition date for the South Warwickshire Area and our school will be having new pupils in on that day. Your child should attend their new setting on that date. If the school offers additional visits then please let Nursery know if your child will be absent from any Nursery sessions. We are unable to swap any sessions or full days that occur in relation to Transition.

 

Forest School and P.E Dates

 

Date Activity
Wednesday 9th January P.E
Wednesday 16th January Forest School
Wednesday 23rd January P.E
Wednesday 30th January Forest School
Wednesday 6th February P.E 
Wednesday 13th February Forest School
Half Term Half Term
Wednesday 27th February  P.E
Wednesday 6th March Forest School
Wednesday 13th March P.E
Wednesday 20th March Forest School
Wednesday 27th March P.E
Wednesday 30th March Forest School

 

 

 

Reception:

The induction process into Reception is tailored to meet individual children's needs. 

 

Each day children need to make sure they have a bag of labelled spare clothes and a full P.E kit on their peg. It is also essential your child brings in a labelled waterproof coat and water bottle each day.

 

On the day that your child has Forest School they should come to school wearing their own clothes including a long sleeve top, tracksuit bottoms/ jeans and comfortable shoes. 

 

P.E will be on every Wednesday. Please see below for additional dates:

 

Friday 11th January Forest School
Friday 18th January P.E
Friday 25th January Forest School
Friday 1st February P.E
Friday 8th February Forest School
Friday 15th February P.E
Half Term Half Term
Friday 1st March Forest School
Friday 8th March P.E
Friday 15th March Forest School
Friday 22nd March P.E
Friday 29th March Forest School
Friday 5th April P.E
Friday 12th April Forest School

 

Tapestry

Tapestry is a tool used for assessment in the Early Years. It is an online learning journal that allows both school and home to submit and view observations. 

Both Nursery and Reception update observations for you to view at home at the end of each half term. You are able to both like and comment on observations made*.

You are able to download observations made of your child to your desktop. 

Please see below for a Tapestry Tutorial Sheet. Should you require further information or support using Tapestry please see your class teacher. 

*Comments are moderated and will be taken down if they are not appropriate. 

Top