Scroll to content
Studley Infants' School home page

Studley Infants' School

Suppose, Imagine, Succeed

Content Scroll


Early Years

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Framework sets out the standards for development, learning and care of children from birth to five years old. Children start this curriculum at nursery or pre-school and this continues through their Reception year at school.

The curriculum for EYFS is designed to ignite children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning and to build their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. The curriculum focuses primarily on child initiated learning within the seven areas of learning and development. These areas are all important and inter-connected.

The three prime areas are:

·     Personal, social and emotional development

·     Communication and language

·     Physical development

The four specific areas are:

·     Literacy

·     Mathematics

·     Understanding the world

·     Expressive arts and design


On a daily basis teachers plan high quality play opportunities for both the indoor and outdoor environment that give the children the opportunity to build on prior knowledge, develop new skills and gain independence. Well-planned play is a key way in which children learn with enjoyment and challenge. There will also be short whole class teaching inputs and adult led learning activities.